University Honors Top Jonsson School Mentor, Dissertation and Thesis

Amidst the pomp and circumstance of end-of-year commencement activities, a number of faculty, staff and students were honored for their contributions to academic excellence, student education and community involvement.

“We are proud to honor just a few of those who help make The University of Texas at Dallas one of the top universities in the country,” said Dr. Inga Musselman, UT Dallas provost, vice president for academic affairs and the Cecil H. Green Distinguished Chair of Academic Leadership. “There is a strong commitment here to academic and community excellence.”

Danieli Rodrigues

Dr. Danieli Rodrigues

2021 Provost’s Award for Faculty Excellence in
Undergraduate Research Mentoring

Dr. Danieli Rodrigues, Associate Professor
Department of Bioengineering
Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science

Dr. Danieli Rodrigues joined the Department of Bioengineering at The University of Texas at Dallas as an assistant professor in the Fall 2012, and she directs the Biomaterials for Osseointegration and Novel Engineering (BONE) Laboratory. Her research interests include orthopedic and dental biomaterials, and she also received a President’s Teaching Excellence Award in 2019. Her graduate research focused on orthopedic biomaterials; she primarily worked on the characterization of corrosion and failure mechanisms of hip implants and development of acrylic two-solution bone cements for the treatment of spinal compression fractures. From 2010 to 2012, Dr. Rodrigues worked as a senior research engineer at Zimmer, Inc. of Warsaw, Indiana. As a research engineer within the medical device industry, she developed test methods for performance verification and validation of new designs of hip and knee prostheses and related surgical instrumentation.

Rodrigues received her BS degree in chemical engineering from Universidade Federal de Santa Maria in Brazil in 2005. She then joined the Department of Biomedical and Chemical Engineering at Syracuse University, receiving a MS in 2007 and a PhD in 2010.

A version of this story ran in News Center.